Real Numbers

Real Numbers

Smokescreens, The Asteroid Shop

Thursday, August 17, 2017

8:30 pm

Soda Bar


Tickets at the Door

This event is 21 and over

Real Numbers
Real Numbers
"Wordless Wonder" is the long awaited full length from Real Numbers. It follows up a pair of 12" EPs on Three Dimensional Records, a single on Florida's Dying, and recent appearances on cassettes from Forged Artifacts and No Problem. Tenderly crafted by Matt Castore at his St. Paul, MN studio A Harder Commune from late 2015 to early 2016, it is presented here on Slumberland Records for your enjoyment.

Members of the band include Eli Hansen (Cozy, Boys Club, Retainers) on vocals and guitars, John Eggerman (Cozy, Private Interests, Mystery Date) on bass, and James Blackfield (France Camp, Nice Purse) on drums. The addition of full time lead guitar player Ian Nygaard (Nice Purse, Howler) reveals a much fuller sound while maintaining the band's trademark DIY simplicity.

As for the songs... The three chords of "Falling Out" sparkle with layered melodies reinforcing the poignant tale of an embarrassed boy having to explain to his parents why he fell out of a car. Other contemplative topics include the Television Personalities' fall from John Peel's good graces, 60's biker flicks and a Welshman's infidelity. Throughout the album, happy harmonies intermingle with sadness-laced larks. The title track, an introspective meta-composition about the frustrations of lyrical penmanship, rewards the astute listener with light pleasantries.

Tracking was a layered affair with a focus on guitars. "We wanted something different than previous releases which had a very 'live' production," explains Eli. This was accomplished by doubling most rhythm tracks, stacking leads and - on a few songs - adding a 12-string acoustic, Eli's "new favorite instrument." Continuing their flirtations with keys Matt Castore's wind organ closes side one, while Eli's childhood Casio SK-1 adds depth to the side two closer "This Happy Sadness".

Real Numbers made their debut East coast rounds last summer and are planning a return trip in September. Previous jaunts have consisted of Gonerfest (2011), SXSW (2013), UK/Europe (2010 & 2011) and Japan (2013 & 2014). An Australian tour in 2013 yielded such tremendous opportunities as lawn bowling with The Stevens, performing live on FBI Radio, crashing at Gooch Manor, and having Shorty and Joe from Royal Headache fill in on drums and guitar.
Los Angeles' Smokescreens specialise in a moody pop that wouldn't sound out of place on the Slumberland records catalogue in 1991 or Flying Nun around 1986. You could call it twee, but their new song "Out of Time" also features a rumbling bass solo. This is pop music that is toothsome and robust.

Featuring Corey Cunnigham of Terry Malts and Business of Dreams on bass, and Chris Rosi from San Diego's Plateaus on guitar, their new self-titled album, to be released on the Terry Malts curated label Parked in Hell, buzzes with hooks and the type of jangly melodies found on The Bodines or other acts on the legendary C86 compilation.

"It was recorded in a tiny, old dairy factory by Jon Greene who filled in on drums because we were a two-piece at the time (we often practiced and wrote with a drum machine)," explains Cunningham. "Sadly, Jon passed away in November. I know he was really proud of this recording and I'm glad it will be out there for people to hear. He was a great drummer and engineer."

"We wanted to make something that sounded like a New Zealand band from the early 80s. So we wrote the songs with that in mind and recorded in mono on an 8-track tape machine. I think we pulled it off. I'm fooled for the first few seconds before I remember it's our band.

Since the recording the band have expanded to a four-piece with Cunningham sliding over to guitar to make room for Brice Bradley on drums and Jenny Moffett on bass.

Smokescreens' self-titled debut album is available Feb 2 on Parked In Hell. ––NOISEY
The Asteroid Shop
Venue Information:
Soda Bar
3615 El Cajon Blvd
San Diego, CA, 92104